HISTORICAL DOCUMENTS: KABAKA MUTESA 1 TO COLONEL GORDON


From: Patrick Otto

Subject: HISTORICAL DOCUMENTS: KABAKA MUTESA TO COLONEL GORDON

6 Februay, 1876.

To Sir Canell Gorlden

My Dear Freind Gorden hear this my word be not angry with Kaber­ega Sultan of Unyoro. I been head that you been brought two manwar ships but I pray you fight not with these Wanyoro for they know not what is good and what is bad. I am, Mutesa king of Uganda for if you fight with governour if you fight with governour you fight with the king.

I will ask you one thing but let it may please you all ye Europeion for I say if I want to go to Bommbey if the Governour and if the Goyernour of Bommbey refuse me to past will l not find the orther road therefore I pray you my friends hear this my letter stop for a moment if you want to fight put ships in the river nile take west and north and I will take east and south and let us put wanyoro in to the middle and fight against them but first send me answer from this letter. Because I want to be a freind of the English. I am Mutesa son of Suna king of U ganda let God be with your Majesty even you all Amen.

Mutesa King of Uganda

Februay 6, 1876.

Comments

One Comment so far. Leave a comment below.
  1. Gook,

    Like a kid to some superior?

    Sent from Gook’s iPatch!

    “What you are we once were, what we are you shall be!” An inscription on the walls of a Roman catacomb.

Leave a Reply

