Afrigo!Fountain Publishers has asked me to create a series of books on music in Uganda


Hello my friends,Fountain Publishers has asked me to create a series of books on music in Uganda. They are pleased with my book on Kafeero. I am thinking of undertaking a book on the history of the Afrigo band and its influence on Uganda and Uganda’s influence on it. Do you know of any written sources on Afrigo? Do you have any personal memories of Afrigo through the years? I also would like to talk to anyone who has a book in the works about music in Uganda, and would like to be part of this Fountain series.


Kathryn Barrett-Gaines
Late kafeero’s wife and a member of UAH

Comments

One Comment so far. Leave a comment below.
  1. P. musoke,

    That’s great. I mean featuring the Afrigos music for their story is the story of Uganda and the persistence of Uganda band music as a distinct entity. I suggest your first point of call be the Afrigo themselves. The founder member, Moses Matovu is still part of the band and was once featured on CNN. The band still entertains Ugandans, old and young weekly at their Club Obligato on Bombo Rd. Pls keep me posted.

Leave a Reply

