Final copy of POMB as submitted to the President for assent.Any comments?


Omara gets saved

Omara gets saved


Ugandans at heart,
I have obtained the final copy of the Public Order Management Bill from good friends in the president’s office. Still reading it but thus far, it does appear some substantial changes were made to the 2009 and 2011 versions. In making laws, you have an original bill which is discussed by parliament and then a final one (ACT OF PARLIAMENT) after amendments which is sent to the president for signing. After parliament handled the POMB everyone looked for the final copy, but it was very hard to find.

However, the legal and parliamentary committee report on POMB was available with all recommendations which informed the debate in the house. Just for your information, contents of the report of the committee on legal and parliamentary affairs were altered during the final debate in parliament and thus they do not reflect the current position. We have been criticising the original bill and the positions that the NRM re-introduced on the floor in the recomittal if you know what Am saying.

Clauses 8, 9, and 11 are so contestable. Hope the lady Immaculate that Kayihura posted on UAH can have something to say.

I also want Ugandans to know that there was training with the Ugandan Police on public order management in the run up to CHOGM, with the help of The London Metropolitan Police. This one week training took place in Entebbe at the Imperial Resort Hotel.

In a multi-sectoral meeting involving NGOs, Senior Police Officers such as Grace Turagumanawe, Edward Ochom and the IGP himself, Nicholas Opiyo[current ULS president] was seconded to a team of 4 with Commissioner Aliro Omara, Patricia Nduru of the UHRC and two other persons from the British High Commission to draft the public order and demonstration guidelines. These guidelines were adopted, validated and widely circulated by the UHRC.

In response to the guidelines and the Court petition (note not ruling) in the Muwanga Kivumbi petition, what later became known as the Rugunda Instrument – SI 53 of 2008 was drafted and gazetted to virtually outlaw public demonstration in every place in Uganda.

These guidelines were roundly rejected and subsequently annulled, by infection, by the decision/ruling of the Constitutional Court. The first draft of the POMB then resurfaced. It is believed that it was leaked from cabinet, and it has the handwriting of the IGP, Gen.Kayihura, instructing his Director Legal to make sure their proposal was included in the bill. The draft bill was forwarded by the PS Min. of Internal Affairs, Dr. Stephen Kagoda. The belief at the time was that the bill was also in part due to the Buganda riots and the Mabira demonstrations.

It was at this stage that the police inserted the firearms clause permitting the police to use, as a first line of defence, live firearms. The debate received massive revulsion in public debate and was shelved only for it to resurface after the 2011 electrons which was the height of the walk to work demonstrations.

H.O

Comments

15 Comments so far. Leave a comment below.
  1. I loved as much as you will receive carried out
    right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following.
    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly
    the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

  2. For the benefit of creating an useful product comparisons,
    we have looked at routers in this variety that discuss similar characteristics like IEEE 802.11n wifi standards, 2.4 GHz
    band and double antennas. If you’re buying new router, nothing less than an n router should be
    considered. It would be best to enhance to your radio n layer
    3 switch, in case you own a wireless-g router. The most
    recent routers additionally increase speed with wi fi Quality of Service applications (QoS) common,
    which makes effective usage of Ethernet connections by prioritizing multimedia
    traffic according to the application’s sensitivity to delay.

    Many wireless-n routers additionally use multiple-input and numerous-output (MIMO) radio antennae
    to boost speeds.

  3. I am now not certain where you’re getting your info, however good topic.
    I must spend a while studying much more or figuring out more.
    Thank you for fantastic info I used to be on the
    lookout for this info for my mission.

  4. Today, I went to the beach front with my kids. I found a sea shell and
    gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched
    her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  5. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?

    My website goes over a lot of the same subjects as
    yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the
    way!

  6. Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It actually was once
    a entertainment account it. Glance complex
    to more delivered agreeable from you! However, how could we keep in touch?

  7. hey there and thank you for your information – I have certainly picked up anything new from right here.
    I did however expertise a few technical points using this web site, as I experienced to reload the web site many
    times previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I
    am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if ads and marketing
    with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective interesting
    content. Ensure that you update this again soon.

  8. If you desire to increase your experience only keep visiting
    this website and be updated with the hottest gossip posted here.

  9. Hello there I am so grateful I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching
    on Digg for something else, Regardless I am here now and
    would just like to say many thanks for a fantastic
    post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to browse it all at the minute but I have
    bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time
    I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

  10. http,

    We’re a gaggle of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your website offered us with valuable information to work on. You have performed
    an impressive activity and our whole community will be
    thankful to you.

  11. An interesting discussion is definitely worth comment. I do
    think that you should write more about this subject matter, it may not be a taboo subject but typically people do
    not talk about such issues. To the next! Best wishes!!

  12. Magnificent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous
    to and you are just too great. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and
    the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it smart.
    I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a great website.

  13. Hello, i believe that i saw you visited my blog thus i got here to go
    back the want?.I’m attempting to in finding things to enhance
    my site!I guess its good enough to make use of a few
    of your concepts!!

  14. Great website. A lot of useful info here. I am sending it to a few buddies
    ans additionally sharing in delicious. And certainly, thanks
    for your effort!

  15. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a
    friend who has been doing a little research on this.
    And he actually ordered me dinner because I found it for
    him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending some time to talk about this
    topic here on your site.

Leave a Reply

