Amin Taught me some history


President Amin along with Uganda soldiers visiting the Muronga Ferry in Kikagati 100 yds from the Tanzanian border with Uganda.'There is a stamp on the back with a date. The date is hard to read, but seems to be 27 sep 1972. This would make sense: '17 September 1972/ An invasion by over one thousand troops, exiled supporters of the former Ugandan President Apolo Milton Obote, attack from Tanzania. President Idi Amin responds by bombing Tanzanian towns

President Amin along with Uganda soldiers visiting the Muronga Ferry in Kikagati 100 yds from the Tanzanian border with Uganda.’There is a stamp on the back with a date. The date is hard to read, but seems to be 27 sep 1972. This would make sense: ’17 September 1972/ An invasion by over one thousand troops, exiled supporters of the former Ugandan President Apolo Milton Obote, attack from Tanzania. President Idi Amin responds by bombing Tanzanian towns


In 1978 at the heat of SABA SABA, President Idi Amin addressed people at Soroti Flying School. He pleaded to Iteso to support him and shun invaders from Tanzania. Among Iteso UNLA fighters were people like Lt. Col. William Omaria L’Arapia. So, Amin pleads saying, ” You Iteso, please support our government, tell our brother Omaria not to fight me, we are one people, we speak same language…” These are some of the words he told us to support his thesis of Kakwa & Iteso being one people.

English Kakwa Ateso

Goat Kine Akine
Cow Kiteng Akiteng
Chair Colong Eicolong

Our concern then was, if we were related with him, how come some prominent Iteso were killed by his henchmen and worse still, he never helped to recover the bodies (Cap. Ousi and Advocate Okurut) vanished. At the time (1978) with the war ongoing and past tortures and economic hardships, I did not want to believe what he said.

Someone from Arua (Koboko) should help me by mentioning more common words . May be we shared origin. I met some Kakwa from South Sudan who unsuspectingly used their language to say something about me, the good thing, it was a compliment to me, surprisingly I understood some words and I just smiled at Thomas who was leading the discussion and I told him that I understood what he said.

Peter Simon

Comments

3 Comments so far. Leave a comment below.
  1. Jame Gumb, the fictional character from the novel The Silence of the Lambs, is inspired by Edward Theodore
    “Ed” Gein, who was an American body snatcher.
    I’m five-foot-nine, chubby and busty, with wide hips
    and a big round ass. There are gifts to shop for, guests to
    invite over, travel to be done, even one evening of dinner
    and socializing can be a lot more activity than a night the
    during rest of the year.

  2. Good post. I’m facing a few of these issues as well..

  3. You know I’m not sure whether it’s me or perhaps
    the website but it is loading totally sluggish , I had to spend just like a couple of minutes
    to successfully load up however gmail does work totally for me.
    On the other hand thank you for publishing splendid blog post.

    I’m assuming it has been helpful to lots of people who arrived on this page.
    I ought to say that you really have done wonderful work with this and additionally hope to discover much more wonderful
    content from you. To obtain more information through posts you publish, I’ve book-marked this page.

Leave a Reply

