WAS M7 BAPTIZED OR NOT?


Stories about Museveni are interesting depending on who says it. The other day I got a Somali in a clinic; we greeted each other and exchanged pleasantries; he introduced himself and added that he was from Somalia; I also introduced myself but at first hesitated to mention my country of origin but after assessing his friendliness, I told him that I was from Uganda. Oh, immediately said, “Museveni?” and I said, yes!. The old man told me of his friend in Mogadishu who slept in the same room Museveni had used in Sweden; that the man often brags that he is the only one who has shared a room with a president! But that his friend whom he visits yearly whenever he goes to Mogadishu says that Museveni is a pagan, has no religion and his actions are ungodly. Oh, I stopped him there and told him that Museveni is a Christian and that his name is Yoweri; the old man argued saying Museveni picked that Yoweri name for “Survival” and challenged me to name other Christians that behave like Museveni. I was going to argue further but my appointment to see the doctor came, I was called and that was it.

Later I pondered over the “survival” issue and wondered about its possibility; might it be true that my president wasn’t baptized but picked the name “Joel” in order to feel welcome as getting services during his time was pegged onto somebody’s religion. Another question that has kept me preoccupied is to unearth how the Somalis came to that conclusion, might have somebody tipped them of that secret, and if so, who was that person with Somali connections, could that person be Salim Saleh who has businesses in Somalia? My president is a pagan and yet he preaches in churches?

Peter Simon Okurut via UAH Forum.

Leave a Reply

