LET US REMEMBER BUKENYA:THE HYPOCRITE, THE CONFUSER, THE NRM EXPERIMENT.


pecadilloesThis Bukenya is a confused man. According to Joachim Buwembo, ‘When he got opportunity to be hosted by Tim Sebastian on BBC’s Hard Talk in 2004, Prof Gilbert Bukenya used the occasion to appeal to the world to award the Nobel Peace Prize to President Yoweri Museveni(Instead they gave it to Prof Wangari Mathai.)’

Ask for his opinion now; he might say m7 should be indicted and taken to the Hague.Mbu “mahogany”, kumbe he’s a mere shrub.

I remember In one interview when he was asked about the hat and opening his eyes wide like Kaguta, and the bent hand, and he said and i quote, verbatim “..Yes, I ape him coz i admire him..” who does that? How can you admire a fellow man so much that you start copying the physical characteristics of his person? what other manners have you learnt and copied from him, that are hidden from us? That just shows a WEAK and SPINELESS, UNIMAGINATIVE man, who defines himself by another man.

Typical degree holders: Professor Sebuwufu (also a doctor) did similar things as Bukenya under Obote 2 when he crossed from DP to UPC.CNN once had a programme about such intellectuals engaged in saying things that dont measure up to their expected standards. Guess what its title name was? ‘USEFUL IDIOTS’.

I remember yet another time when during an interview he said that ‘Mutebi is my friend’. Then the statement I will never forget soon after the 2009 Buganda riots and how he said ‘The Kabaka’s wings have to be clipped’.

Remember in Buddu, he decided to go into a “ssabo” ostensibly to show how he valued African-Kiganda culture. It earned him the ire of the Catholic Church of which he is a member and which regarded him as one of theirs. It was game of playing both the populist and the loyalist card, which left people wondering who exactly Bukenya was.

May 10, 2004: “Museveni is Buganda’s best friend. I have been in meetings and you see that he listens to issues of Baganda.”

“I support President Museveni wholly and nothing can change me from that,” Bukenya said in 2007. “Wherever I go, I talk about him in my speeches. Even if they stab me in the back and I am no longer the vice president, I will continue supporting him.”

Bukenya said in July 2008: “Mr Museveni is still strong. So, why should we let him go? Let us support him. I cannot compete with Museveni. How can I turn against my mentor?”

All former DPs are confused and have been used by Museveni and dumped them where they belong. The late DP enigma Ben Kiwanuka’s son Kagimu Kiwanuka. The lad riding on his dad’s name won the Bukomansimbi seat back from the NRM in races that were tightly contested. After securing the seat on a DP platform(parties I think were not yet officially back) then naively thought that by joining NRM he would anchor the NRM supporters to the assured DP support he had. He has since then been relegated to the dustbin of Uganda’politics and the last we got to hear of him was when he was an Ambassador of sorts and said things that were very bogus at a UN assembly-things like ‘back home where I come from, we dont value time……’ Oba ani aloga Ganda politicians?

HANNAH OGWAPITI

Leave a Reply

